Well…The World Didn’t End, Bring on 2013

wp_1680-236 (1)

Here we are 5 days into the new year and here I am without a complete resolution list! Shame on me.  This year hardly felt like it started with a clean slate. Heck, even my new year’s eve outing ended in a bit of chaos, including getting bitten by a dog and searching for a lost cat in the cold at 4 a.m., but I’d like to believe that that’s setting the tone for a year full of excitement (but not as intense as the ‘excitement’ that we all got a fist full of in 2012, please).

I did a lot of reflecting on my resolution list from last year. I thought about how it affected my year, the good and the bad things I got out of it, and most of all…how everything I learned should affect this year’s resolutions. This year already feels like its going to be one of spiritual growth.  People have heard me say “I need to do some soul-searching” a lot lately, but I don’t really know if I’m indulging that need or desire quite yet.  So this year I’m kind of categorizing my resolutions into the big buckets that are important to me this year:

  • Making habits of the things I love to do
  • Accomplishing the things I wanted to in 2012 that I didn’t
  • Keep on having new experience and big adventures
  • Take steps toward making my life dreams and goals a reality
  • Focus more on my health/wellness
  • Make a conscious effort to do that “soul-searching” I keep talking about
  • Do more good things for other people

So, with that in mind, I’m whittling my list down about and aspiring toward the completion of 60 resolutions this year.

The Shiny New 2013 Resolution List

Creating Habits:

Do something “just for me” once a week
Make a blog post 3 times a week
Exercise at least 3 times a week
Take a self-portrait once a month
Read a new book every month

2012 Resolutions Revisited:

Go on a road trip
Volunteer
Add an unnatural color to my hair
Create something I can wear
Write a short story
Participate in an activity that is only for women
Get a concealed handgun license
Take myself on a date
Submit a design to Threadless
Host a dinner party

New Experiences:

Go to Burning Man/Flipside
Go paintballing
Learn how to ride a motorcycle
Do something completely out of my comfort zone
Visit a new US State
Join a club or group
Learn to make something that I usually get pre-made/store-bought
Attempt a new form of art
Enter a competition
Do a DIY project
Stop in somewhere that I pass on the road just because it seems interesting
Create a secret recipe
Hack something into something cooler
Try acro yoga
Guerrilla anything (I’m thinking christmas decorations?)
Learn or create a new craft
Buy a groupon for something I’ve never done, and do it.
Take a cooking class
Learn to make sushi at home
Travel somewhere by train

Making my Dreams Come True:

Submit a short story to literary magazine
Get an article published by YCN
Get a consultation at Write by Night
Get certified to teach english as a second language
Pay off at least one credit card
Make an investment
Find a creative (and fulfilling) way to make extra money
Toss/donate/sell at LEAST 25 things that I do not need
Visit somewhere awe-inspiring
Learn more about astrology (you know, signs other than my own ;))

Self-Discovery:

Go camping alone
Make a change that I’ve always wanted but was afraid of what other people would think
Do the 21-day meditation challenge
Make one improvement that makes me more self-confident
Work on intuition/psychic development

Health and Wellness:

Try the Paleo diet
Get a check-up
Shop at the farmer’s market once a month
Attempt a tough mudder (or similar) challenge
Find something new and interesting to do for fitness

Good Things for Good People:

Do 10 random acts of kindness in one day
Help make someone else’s dream come true
Send an anonymous gift to someone for a holiday/birthday
Visit a friend in another state
Get involved with a charity or non-profit

One thought on “Well…The World Didn’t End, Bring on 2013

  1. Pingback: My 2013 Resolutions « Still in Motion

Leave a Reply

