When It Doesn’t Go According to Plan

I feel like this kid.  I feel like this kid ALL the time. I even make that face when I see birds.  Anyway…

I had grand plans for this week. Boyfriend gone. House to myself.  Ample time to check off some resolutions. See some people I hadn’t seen in a while.  Maybe get a couple of workouts in. Oh yes.  This week was going to be great.

But I didn’t do any of those things.

And, originally I was going to complain about this.  “My week didn’t go according to plan, boo hoo, still behind on everything, feeling fat, blah blah.”  But when I started to list out the things that DID happen this week…

  • Had feelings expressed to me (love, like, whatever you’ll call it) from someone I didn’t know had them
  • Rode on a Harley
  • Watched the sunrise two mornings in a row
  • Ate some killer sushi over philosophical conversation
  • Helped out a friend in need
  • Got covered in chigger bites

Okay, maybe that last one is a bit of a bummer, but for the rest of them, I’d sound like a real bitch if I said anything other than “This week was actually EXACTLY what I was looking for.”  Adventurous. Full of love and good people. New perspectives and new experiences. The whole reason I started this darn blog, right?  And, I got all of the above, without doing anything that I planned to do.

I’m just so used to having a list and checking things off of it, that suddenly when I was having adventures off the list, I felt like I wasn’t doing anything at all.

Pity, right?

I’ve written in the past about living in the present, but it never ceases to amazing me how genuinely difficult it is to do sometimes. I can’t believe, in retrospect, that I was watching the sunrise thinking “I can’t believe how much I didn’t do today.”  …It’s a sunrise Ami, enjoy it. Or that after riding on that motorcycle my second thought after “I’m alive!” was “That could have been a really bad idea.” It wasn’t, (I even wore a helmet) and it was awesome, nothing bad-idea about it.

So what did we learn this week?

That to-do lists are all fine and good, but make sure you set aside time to deliberately disobey your responsibilities for a while.

In other news, I successfully accessorized an outfit today, and also…bought my first pair of leather pants!  In Texas, no less.

To go with the owl shirt and new leather pants: Fancy new shoes, necklace (right), bracelet (middle) and a feather hair clip (right).

We’ll see how much use I’ll get out of them, but for tonight I plan on sporting them in the darkness of a movie theatre to watch Prometheus.

8 thoughts on “When It Doesn’t Go According to Plan

  1. Someone once said if you want to hear god laugh tell him your plans( that person is probably dead now ). There are few instances where your plans turn out , those when they dont are probably the best. For instance , had you gone on with your plans on doing resolutions , yes you would have felt achieved , you wouldn’t have had this epiphany so in a sense this could be for the better . (Also I find it funny that after all that what people stuck to were the shoes { which are very nice})

Leave a Reply

