A Plea to Ellen DeGeneres

Well, it’s a bold move, but it’s a shot I had to take.  I wrote a letter to Ellen DeGeneres today.  Will she even read it?  I don’t know, but she sure as heck won’t read a letter if I don’t even write… so I wrote one.  I don’t even know what the chances are of her seeing, but even knowing its out there kind of gives me the butterflies.

See, the thing is, I watch Ellen’s show almost every day and have for the past 5 years.  In fact, she’s one of the biggest inspirations for my resolution list in the first place, because on top of being a funny and an inspiring person on her own, she also has a magnificent way of showing ordinary people that they are capable of extraordinary things.  The people that she has on her show are the people who don’t even KNOW that what they’re doing is being recognized until they are on national television for it.  It’s just…mind-blowing to watch, and has fed my hope and faith in people for years.

No, I am not a teacher paying for supplies out of my own pocket, or a mother working 3 jobs to keep her family afloat, but I am trying to inspire people in my own way… and so I thought, if there was any microscopic chance that Ellen might be willing to help out, I’d take it.

Here’s the letter (first sentence is a clarification because the big image on the e-mail form page was a hand full of money, and that’s not what I’m asking for):

Ellen,

I first want to say that I have no need for money, but you really could change my life with a once-in-a-lifetime experience. I’ve been watching your show for a little over 5 years now and continue to be inspired by you, your guests and everything that goes on on your stage.  So much so, in fact, that on the first of the year I made a list of 112 new year’s resolutions to accomplish before 2013.  

The goal is to end the year with as many new experiences accomplished, as many lives touched and as many people inspired as possible. I have struggled for a long time with finding my ‘passion’ in life and what I should be doing with my life in general, but I decided that if I can inspire people in the process of figuring myself out, then it isn’t and won’t be time wasted.

However, with limited money, resources and reach the task seems daunting.  So, my absolute dream come true would be for your helping hand. My list is at https://wakeupami.wordpress.com/resolutions-2012/. It’s part of my blog that chronicles my journey in basically figuring myself out as I go. If you were willing at all, and saw anything on that list that I could be involved in on your show, I would LOVE the opportunity to come out, meet you and hopefully inspire a few more people than I currently reach.  

Either way, whether I come on or not, I want to thank you for inspiring me to never be afraid to ‘just dive in.’ You’re the mentor I’ve never even met.

-Ami

So, here’s hoping that fate works its magic and puts it in her hands. That really…really…would be something.

6 thoughts on “A Plea to Ellen DeGeneres

  1. You can check off #37! I’m very proud of you! There aren’t many people out there letting themselves enjoy life, I’m glad your taking the time. And just so you know… you have “inspired people”,me, so check that one off too!

    • Almost! It’s got to be read on the air for me to achieve #37. My fingers are crossed. 🙂 Thank you so much for the encouragement. It blows my mind that people are even following my resolutions let alone inspired by them. It makes me so happy.

  2. Hello and thank you for your encouraging blog! I’ve been trying to get on the Ellen DeGeneres Show for a while now, but I have not had any luck as of yet….Have you heard anything back from the show? Also, can you please tell me what is the correct address to send mail to Ellen ? I’ve been given 3 different addresses every time I call the studio…it’s sort of weird…..Please see my You Tube Channel when you can, and please get the word out that I am a desperate mom in need of Ellen’s help! I thank you and I really appreciate this blog you did for Ellen, and to encourage us all! God Bless You!–Hope you make it to the show, I will pray for you, and please pray for me as well =)
    nancy bristol

Leave a Reply

