The Art of IKEA Hacking

I’ve noticed lately that I am horribly behind on my resolutions…I needed something like 9 or 10 a month, and I’ve managed maybe 4? Uh oh.  So I started perusing the web for potential ‘new hobbies’ I could pick up to accomplish resolution #17.  I went through everything from anything that can be picked up in a kit from hobby lobby to the millions of crafty tidbits on Pinterest, when I came across this:

Wait, I have that side table!  That $8 IKEA side table!  And is that a WORKING fountain in there?

After reading the step-by-step instructions I realized that with a few tools and a Tupperware container I could easily turn my own LACK side table into a fountain.  So if this is so easy, what else can I do with IKEA?  And thus, the world of IKEA hacking opened up all around me.

It turns out that in addition to DIY bloggers everywhere sharing their individual projects, there is also a site called IKEA Hackers that collects the best IKEA hacks from all over the web and some are mighty mighty impressive.

Check out this huge home library made entirely from Billy and Benno shelves:

Or this fabulous headboard made from Benno dvd racks turned to planters.  (I’m doing this one when I have the money.)

You can even make a snazzy industrial looking lamp in 10 minutes with a cheese grater and a light bulb/cord.

So after spending a while looking through these projects saying “I want to do that!” or “I could do that!” I think I may have found my new hobby.  Plus, it will give me a sweet new look in my apartment, for way less than buying ready-made crazy cool furniture pieces.

I’ve also landed on the first project I will attempt:  This “Torked-Out Backlit Frame”

Isn’t it gorgeous?  And it’s all IKEA, even the LED lights.  Can you believe it?  All I need is a drill and a little white paint, and I’ll have a beautiful solution for the empty space above the bed.

So, if you’re interested in doing some IKEA hacking of your own, remember to check out IKEA Hackers.  You’ll find all the projects I posted here and many many others to try.

6 thoughts on “The Art of IKEA Hacking

    • I’m so excited about it. I love IKEA already, but giving them new look and new function makes it even better.

      An indoor garden sounds amazing! I’d love to know more about how you did that.

  1. If you like this idea then you might also like the idea behind thrift store upgrades, which is where you upgrade pieces you find at a thrift store. All super cheap (much cheaper than IKEA) and more eco-friendly because it is used stuff instead of new. Craigslist is a great place to find free materials as well. I love those backlit frames though and I have a feeling that it wouldn’t be that easy to do something like that from a thrift store find.

    • That’s a great idea. I’d love to try my hand at it for sure, plus it would result in even more unique pieces I imagine. I did get lucky and I found a few IKEA pieces on Craigslist. If I stay patient, maybe I can find almost everything secondhand.

Leave a Reply

